Liebster Award

Liebster Blog AwardA couple of weeks ago I was nominated by Carrie, from the Little Blog of Letting Go @ http://littleblogoflettinggo.com/, for the Liebster Award. I am absolutely honoured and I thank you, Carrie, from the bottom of my heart for recognizing my blog as worthy reading  material.

If you’ve been blogging for a while you probably already know what the Liebster Award is about.  For those of you who don’t the Liebster Award is given to rising bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The word Liebster is German and has a variety of meanings such as sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.

The purpose of the Liebster Blog Award is to recognize those who are new to blogging and to help promote their blog to other bloggers.

The rules are as follows; I must:

  1. List 11 random facts about myself
  2. Answer the 11 questions that Carrie created for me to answer.
  3. Pass the torch by nominating 11 new bloggers.
  4. Create 11 questions for my nominees
  5. Display the Liebster Award logo.

about me

11 Random Facts About Me

  1. I am the luckiest woman in the world because I have the best husband in the world.
  2. I am the luckiest mom in the world (next to my mom,lol ;)) because I have the best, most beautiful daughter in the world.
  3. I have a strong love for all creatures great and small which is why I have 3 cats, 3 snakes, 2 turtles, 1 Savannah monitor, 1 bearded dragon, 1 scorpion and about 30 tarantulas.  The weird creatures are my husband’s hobby.  I learned to love them when I fell in love with him.  Now I can’t imagine not having them around 🙂
  4. I am a clean freak and a neat freak.  Everything has to be spotless and in it’s place.  Otherwise, I feel unsettled and unbalanced.
  5. I am a true Libra: balanced; love peace, harmony and justice; natural-born leader
  6. I am a perfectionist which can sometimes cause undue stress but it keeps me continuously striving.
  7. I am a fitness freak and love everything health and fitness related. I do martial arts, workout like a machine and play soccer like I’m competing for the FIFA World Cup.
  8. I LOVE chocolate!!!! However, if I have a certain health or fitness goal in mind I have the discipline to say no to chocolate or any other junk food because I’m determined to be successful.
  9. I am very spiritual and have a strong faith in God.
  10. I love reading books that have anything to do with spirituality, personal development and psychology.
  11. I believe in angels because I believe they guide and protect me.  I also believe it’s important to  treat everyone with love and respect because you just never know when you could be talking to an angel 🙂

q&a

My Answers to the 11 Questions Carrie Created for Me:

1) What are you most afraid of?

Funny enough, I’m afraid of mice which is weird because I have to feed them to my snakes.  I don’t understand the fear.  They just kinda make my skin crawl!

2) Do you have a favorite quote or personal motto? If so, what is it?

I have two:

  • Dream Big…Make it happen
  • If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough !

3) What is the most difficult life event you have experienced?

I would have to say that going through a divorce about four years ago was difficult.  It was very life changing but, I’m grateful for the experience because it strengthened my character and I have now been blessed with the best husband in the world.

4) What is the most joyful life event you have experienced?

I am very blessed because I have many but, the most joyful was the birth of my princess 18 years ago.

5) Who are your heroes?

My mom and dad, the two people I look up to the most.  They have raised 3 great children who are all successful and made many sacrifices in doing so. Despite their health issues which would have most people giving up, they face each day with a smile, thank God for another day of life and keep a positive attitude.

6) What is your favorite “thing” in all the world? People don’t count, and it does not have to be a material “thing”. For example, my favorite “thing” is Star Trek.

My most favourite thing is long socks. I have tons of pairs with different patterns and funky colours.  I wear them only in the winter, of course, but I love them because they keep me all warm and cozy.

7) Do you believe in life on other planets?

Absolutely!! I believe there is so much more to this world than we can even begin to imagine!

8) If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be?

I would break down all the barriers that have been built by and that are the cause of all pain, suffering and hatred.  I would love to be able to wave a magic wand that would cause an awakening and raise levels of consciousness to reduce greed and conflict and create more love and compassion.

9) If you answered the phone and a voice on the other end said, “I have a loaded gun to my head. Give me one good reason why I shouldn’t pull the trigger?” How would you respond?

My response would be: You shouldn’t pull the trigger because I am here for you.  I care and I want to help you end the pain. You matter and your feelings matter.  Your life is as significant and as valuable as anyone else’s life and you deserve love and happiness.  Please talk to me and help me understand your pain so we can get through this together.

10) What do you think the most important words in the English language are?

  • Perseverance
  • Courage
  • Strength
  • Faith
  • Warrior

And I have six more that I’ll put into two phrases:

  • Love thy neighbour
  • Do unto others

11) How do you plan to make the world a better place?

I plan to reach out to as many people as possible to lead and inspire towards living clean and healthy lives creating a mind, body and spirit balance.

congrats

liebster awardI now pass the torch to my fellow bloggers who deserve some recognition for their great writings and hard work.  My nominees are as follows (in no particular order):

Danabolic– All Things Health and Fitness

Diamonds With Flaws– Self-Love.Encouragement.Motivation.Advice.Change.

Fit & Busy– There’s No Such Thing As Too Busy

Gracie’s Greens-Documenting the life of an aspiring dancer, fitness maniac, and crazy health nut one bowl of greens at a time.

Italian Curly– A new(ish) CrossFitter just trying to live in a lovelier light!

JSResults’s Blog-Chasing The Top One Day At A Time!

pFIT pFUN– Fitness tips, workouts and motivation.

Project Eat Me– Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

Stefanya– Natural Living, Natural Skin Care

The Iron Cheftress– Life & Kitchen of a Personal Trainer

Yvie Sismee-Fitness, Exhilaration, and Nutrition

Congratulations!  You all have wonderful blogs with a lot of valuable information and experiences to share.  Keep striving and making your dreams come true.

questionsMy Questions for you are as follows:

  1. What is your favourite past time?
  2. What sign of the zodiac are you and does your personality/character fit the description?
  3. Where is your most favourite vacation spot?
  4. What’s your favourite colour?
  5. What movie could you watch a million times and it never gets old?
  6. What’s your favourite piece of clothing?
  7. What’s your most favourite thing to eat, good or bad?
  8. What is your most favourite sport to play or watch?
  9. If you could have one wish, what would it be?
  10. If someone had the power to look into your future and tell you how your life is going to unfold, would you want to know? Why?
  11. What do you think is the most valuable lesson we could teach our youth today?

I wish you all much success on your blogging journey 😉

About fitchick007

I aspire to educate and motivate others towards acheiving a healthy body and lifestyle.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. wonderful, wonderful post! I’ve been away from the blogging world for a little over a week due to family issues, I picked the perfect moment to check back in. 🙂 I loved getting to know you better, you are an amazing and inspiring woman! 🙂 Tarantulas? eek! By the way, we got our tortoise, and are having a blast with him! I look forward to checking out the blogs you suggest, they sound very motivational, I’m bound to get in shape, haha! 😉

    • Thank you Carrie! Hope all is well with the family. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to share. It was quite fun 🙂 Lol yes, Tarantulas… I never imagined that I would ever hold them. They’re really not the deadly creatures most people think they are. That’s good news about the tortoise. Now that would be one cool pet to have! Have fun checking out the other blogs! Enjoy your day 🙂

  2. You continue to inspire! Thanks so much for the nomination!

  3. Thank you so much for your nomination.

  4. Nice to read more about you. Thank you for sharing with us. I’d love to see a family picture. Do the pets have a designated area? I love chocolate as well. How long can you go for without it, especially during fitness goals? If you created your own chocolate treat using natural cacao, would you still consider it junk food? Have you? How much sugar do you consume during fitness goals? I was going to # these but they came after the other.

    • Thank you! Family picture… hmmm. Maybe I’ll include one in one of my posts one day…well, it would be my daughter and I. My husband has this thing about his picture being posted anywhere!! lol.
      The cats get to roam the entire house. The rest of the creatures are in one room. As for chocolate, I can go forever without it because I’m very focused. However, if I do decide to buy some, which is very rare, it has to be at least 85% cacoa. It’s really bitter but I find that it curbs any cravings. If I have certain fitness goals in mind I stay away from it completely. There’s absolutely no wiggle room.
      I’ve never made a chocolate treat but if I did natural cacoa would be better than milk chocolate but, you have to be very careful. The fat content in cacoa can be really high. I just try to stay away from it entirely only because I love it so much. It’s just like a recovering alcoholic. They can’t have even one drink or it’s game over.
      As for sugar, I would have to say that I barely consume any at all. I don’t bake or eat baked goods. I don’t add it to tea or coffee. I don’t cook with it and I rarely eat things like candy or anything else like that. My diet sounds pretty bland, lol.

      How do you handle your chocolate cravings?

      • I eat dark chocolate as well. I bake a lot. I’m always creating and looking for creations. However, my diet is going to start

      • That’s good that you like to bake. I would say it’s definitely a good skill to have. Something I never really got into like cooking which is weird because both my parents are amazing cooks and can bake just about anything. I just cook because it’s necessary to eat for survival, lol. I rarely ever cook anything fancy and time consuming. If I ever do I’ll be sure to post a picture of it because it doesn’t happen too often, lol.

        Well, if you have any questions or need any pointers when starting your diet, feel free to ask. I will be honoured to help 🙂

      • No sugar? Including fruit?

      • Oh yes, I do eat fruit. I like to put strawberries and bananas in my shakes and I eat apples. I try to stay as close as possible to natural sources of sugar. I don’t even drink fruit juices like apple juice, orange juice or any kind of fruit juice unless it’s freshly squeezed right from the fruit itself. However, when I was competing, fruit was a big no no! Absoutely no sugar in any form!

      • What about milk; the nut ones; during training?

      • I never drink milk only because I grew up with a milk allergy. I’ve probably outgrown the allergy by now but I just don’t drink it because it’s something I never got used to drinking. However, whether you drink milk or not during training depends on your goals. If you want to bulk up, milk is ok. If you want to lean out, I would suggest not drinking milk or at least cutting back to skim milk.

      • Thank you for being so responsive.

      • Thank you for being so responsive. Do you have a post of your training regimen for a competition?

  5. Thanks for the nomination! Long socks are one of my favourite things in the world too! When I first moved from Edmonton, AB to Austin, TX, I had something like 100 pairs of socks (we had to do an inventory for the movers for insurance purposes). I also used to have enough Christmas socks to get me through November and December without any repeats. I don’t have as many socks anymore, probably because I wear flip-flops for half of the year.

    • Lol that’s awesome! I don’t think I have that many pairs! Wow, moving from Edmonton to Austin…that’s so cool. What a change. Guess the weather is much nicer in Austin, lol. You sound like a very interesting person. Looking forward to learning more about you!

  6. Diet regimen, specifically.

    • When I’m training, for protein all I eat is steak, chicken, fish and egg whites. For carbs, sweet potatoes, brown rice and the only veggies I eat have to be green. That means nothing colourful like carrots, or tomatoes. Absolutely no fruit, nuts, breads or anything! It’s a pretty strict and boring diet but you get results!

  7. Thank you for the nomination! But I have to admit I haven’t done anything with past nominations :/ but I swear to God I appreciate it! I’ve just been swamped. And its great to know that we have a lot in common (except for the mother part)

    • Lol no worries!! I completely understand. I was absolutely thrilled to be nominated, but it doesn’t take much to excite me, lol. I’m just such a big kid! I understand it’s a lot of work because when I was doing it I thought, “holy crap! How long is this going to take me?” That’s why it took me two weeks, lol. If you don’t have the time to do it, no worries. Just wanted you to know that I love your blog! Keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

Everyday Power Blog

Motivational Blog | Inspirational Quotes | Videos | Images | Memes

Colin DeWaay Training

Your Strength Training and Flexible Dieting Resource

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

The beauty of words.

An inspiring site with wonderful sayings and words.

FitGirl2013

Living a Healthier Lifestyle One Day at a Time

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Silk Mantras

Activating The Divine Design For Your Life

The Journeys of Life

BE HAPPY, BE GRATEFUL, BE FREE, BE YOU

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The Perky Poppy Seed

Everything Food from a Perky Personal Chef's Perspective

For the Love of Books

Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house. ~Henry Ward Beecher

groovypaleo

A great WordPress.com site

forwardandstrong

One woman's story, journey, and experiences to help you

Lori Leigh Wilson

Tell Me A Story

Joy and Inspiration

Insipration and self development

